Grouse

Discussion in 'Upland Hunting Ohio' started by jeff51814, Jan 2, 2016.

1. jeff51814

jeff51814 Well-Known Member

Me and the boys hunted Pike county for the first time in 6 or 7 years yesterday. Man, tough to remember all your spots after that long away. And boy have some/most of them changed. We only hunted about 2hrs total. No flushes, but one solid point(my son thought he saw it glide off the hill earlier).
    I think we're going again tomorrow.

2. Chocdawg

Chocdawg New Member

In 2016 consider a long weekend trip to Northern MI or the Upper Peninsula to chase grouse. It will not disappoint in November. Some grouse in southern Ohio but one will burn a lot of shoe leather. Enjoy.

3. peanut

peanut Active Member

I'm no expert, but I'm told that grouse are on an approximate 5 year cycle. I saw/flushed a boatload last year while deer hunting in PA during gun season. This year, same time same place. No grouse. Flushed quit a few in geauga/Trumbull County in 04 and 05. Again, I'm no expert, but I'd say there are more wild grouse in Ohio than pheasants.

4. Chocdawg

Chocdawg New Member

Yes, grouse are cyclic. Farming practice (efficient) and lack of habitat has helped to greatly reduce native pheasant populations in Ohio.

5. MaktheQwk

MaktheQwk Well-Known Member

[​IMG]
    =
    [​IMG]
    But, oh, how we used to love to chase them down in Morgan County when they were plentiful! Know several guys who love to hunt them in Michigan every fall.

6. tjeep

tjeep New Member

I can still put up 4 or 5 on my farm in Adams County, but I won't kill them.

7. jeff51814

Lower Michigan is OK, depending on the where you hunt, and where they're at in the cycle(it's 10ish yrs, not five). It's never(IMHO) anything to write home about. I even gave Will some spots to hunt in the Mio/Luzerne area.

But if I'm driving 10+ hours to hunt grouse(U.P. from cincy), I'm going to Wisconsin. No part of Michigan can compare for numbers.