Field Decoy placement

Discussion in 'Goose Hunter Forum' started by HROTHGAR, Jul 27, 2005.

1. HROTHGAR

HROTHGAR New Member

<P style="MARGIN: 0px">I'm fairly new to goose hunting fields and wanted some suggestions on decoy placement.&nbsp; In particular mixing decoys, I have a variety of goose decoys, i.e., 2 dozen silos, four or five full bodies, couple of shells and 8 floaters.&nbsp; I just bought a finisher so I'm okay there.&nbsp; Any suggestions on mixing decoys and on placement; for example, silos in one spot, full bodies around blind, etc.&nbsp; Do you use floaters in the field? Should I mix in some mallard decoys? Any input would be helpful.&nbsp; Thanks, look forward to your replies.</P>

2. gastj

gastj Member

<P>We have over the past few year have gotten around 6 dozen full standers, and the rest ~6 more dozen in shells of different sizes.&nbsp; We use the Mags on out skirts and mix the normals shells and standers in the bunch.&nbsp; Don't have all your spread looking into the wind it will make them look nervous.&nbsp; I typically run a open-v on land or ice.&nbsp; I do try different combo's until they pick what they like.&nbsp; If all you have is floaters to add to spread use them, but make sure they sit up right.&nbsp; The aqua vac style are nice in field and swamp.</P>

3. Blaux

Blaux New Member